David F. Woods Memorial Award

go back

     Initiated in 1982 to honor the memory of Dave Woods, long-time racetrack publicist and Evening Sun columnist, the award is presented annually by Pimlico Race Course to the writer of the best Preakness story for the previous year.
Eclipse-award winning writer Joe Clancy, editor of Mid-Atlantic Thoroughbred, has been named the reciepient of the David F. Woods Memorial Award for excellence in journalism.
Clancy will be recognized by the Maryland Jockey Club for “Preakness-winning Desormeaux brothers fueled by early days in Maryland,” a feature on Keith and Kent Desormeaux, trainer and jockey respectively of 2016 Preakness winner Exaggerator, that appeared in the July 2016 edition of Mid-Atlantic Thoroughbred.
"I never know where a story is going when I start, but the Desormeaux brothers were a compelling part of the 2016 Preakness and it was fun to find people who remembered Keith and Kent when they were in Maryland. I work with my brother, but I couldn't imagine the feeling of winning the Preakness with him. Kent and Keith were gracious with their time and the other interview subjects helped it all come together.”
1982 Billy Reed, Louisville Courier-Journal
1983 John Schulian, Chicago Sun-Times
1984 Jack Murray, Cincinnati Enquirer
1985 George Vecsey, New York Times
1986 Dave Kindred, Atlanta Constitution-Journal
1987 Billy Reed, Lexington Herald Leader
1988 Bob Roberts, Cleveland Plain Dealer
Don Clippinger, Thoroughbred Record
1989 Larry Bortstein, Orange County Register
1990 Bill Christine, Los Angeles Times
1991 Bill Christine, Los Angeles Times
1992 Jay Hovdey, Blood-Horse
1993 Bill Mooney, Blood-Horse
1994 Jay Posner, San Diego Union Tribune
1995 Bill Finley, New York Daily News
1996 Steve Haskin, Daily Racing Form
1997 Jay Hovdey, Daily Racing Form
1998 Jay Hovdey, Daily Racing Form
1999 Bill Mooney, Backstretch Magazine
2000 Rick Snider, Washington Times
2001 Tom LaMarra, Blood-Horse
2002 Jay Privman, Daily Racing Form
2003 Bill Finley, New York Times
2004 Sean Clancy, Mid-Atlantic Thoroughbred
2005 Dick Jerardi, Philadelphia Daily News
2006 Mike Brunker, NBCSports.com
2007 Sean Clancy, Mid-Atlantic Thoroughbred
2008 Sean Clancy, Mid-Atlantic Thoroughbred
2009 Tom Pedulla, USA Today
2010 Tom Pedulla, USA Today
2011 Bill Dwyre, Los Angeles Times
2012 Bob Ford, Philadelphia Inquirer
2013 Jay Privman, Daily Racing Form
2014 Sean Clancy, Mid-Atlantic Thoroughbred
2015 Joe Clancy, Mid-Atlantic Thoroughbred
2016 Bob Ehalt, ESPN.com
2017 Joe Clancy, Mid-Atlantic Thoroughbred