Pimlico Announces 2011 Alibi Breakfast Award Winners

     BALTIMORE, 04-25-11—Pimlico Race Course today announced the winners of this year’s Preakness media awards. Honorees will be recognized and awards presented at the May 19 Alibi Breakfast in the Terrace Dining Room. The ceremony is scheduled for 9:30 a.m., two days prior to the middle jewel of the Triple Crown, the $1 million Preakness® Stakes (Grade I).

     The Special Award of Merit is given to someone who has made a positive impact on the racing industry. The 2011 winner is Joe Bryce, the Chief Legislative Officer in Governor Martin O’Malley’s State of Maryland Legislative & Policy Office. Bryce was instrumental in helping O’Malley orchestrate a deal last December to create 146 live racing days in the state for 2011 and saving thousands of jobs.

     Los Angeles Times turf writer Bill Dwyre is the recipient of the David F. Woods Award, for his depiction of the trainer Bob Baffert’s reaction after Lookin At Lucky’s 2010 Preakness score. The Woods Award honors the best story for the previous year. Judging was done by Preakness notes team members Ed Gray, Mike Kane and Matt Graves, all award winning turf writers.

     Associated Press photographer Mike Stewart is the winner of the Jerry Frutkoff Preakness Photo Award, sponsored by Nikon. Stewart captured Lookin At Lucky coming out of the shadows and reaching the wire first in Preakness 135. Judging was completed by Nikon’s Sam Garcia, Maryland Jckey Club photographer Jim McCue, AdoramaCamera's Jeff Snyder and Molly Riley of Reuters. Riley and Snyder are previous winners of the award.

     The prestigious Old Hilltop Award will be bestowed upon Blood-Horse news editor Tom LaMarra and Daily Racing Form staff photographer Barbara Livingston for covering Thoroughbred racing with excellence and distinction.

     Since 1996, the United States Postal Service has opened a temporary Preakness station the week of the Preakness. The Honorary Postmasters for Preakness 136 Station will be the Lady Legends, eight retired female riders who came out of retirement a year ago to participate in a pari-mutuel race on Black-Eyed Susan Day.

     Baltimore radio personalities Scott Garceau and Keith Mills, former broadcast partners at WMAR-TV from 1987-2006, will host the event for the third consecutive year.

     Most Rev. DenisMadden, Auxiliary Bishop for the Archdiocese of Baltimore, will provide the invocation.